Doe ook mee aan de Erasmussprints op 16 juni 2022!

The Westelijke Regatta is the oldest rowing regatta in the province of South-Holland. Traditionally, it was annually the first national regatta in the short track season (two kilometres). As of now, the Varsity is the start of the short track season, the Westelijke takes place around May on the Willem-Alexander Baan.

On initiative of dr. E.A. Kreiken, the president of the Royal Haarlem Rowing and Sailing association "Het Spaarne", on the 10th of October 1925 a regatta was organised in affiliation with D.D.S. from Delft, R.V. "De Laak" from The Hague and L.R.&Z.V. "Die Leythe" from Leiden. This in order to provide for a regatta for unaffiliated rowers. This regatta, "de Herfstwedstrijden in het Westen" (The Autumnal Regatta in the West), had a very good reception. So much that on December 18th of the very same year, "de Vereeniging voor Herfstwedstrijden van burgerroeiverenigingen in het Westen" (The Association of Autumnal Regattas of civilian rowing associations in the West) was established. Later the next year, the name was changed to the more flowing "Westelijke Roeibond" (Rowing Association of the West). In 1927 the Schiedam R.V. "De Schie" joined the Westelijke Roeibond. The name of the regatta was also later on changed to de Westelijke Regatta.

Over the years, the Zaanland Sailing association, the Leiden student's (K.)S.R.V. "Njord" and the Gouda R.&Z.V. joined the Westelijke Roeibond, and a joint venture with the Roeibond voor Rotterdam was established. The new organisation changed names again in 1976, and became the Zuid-Hollandsche Roeibond (ZHRB). In the same year, they started coöperating with the Amsterdam K.A.R.&Z.V. "De Hoop", changing the name of the regatta once again, to Randstad Regatta

In 2009 the coöperation stopped, and the name changed with new sponsorship to the Boekel de Nerée Regatta. One year later already, it became the Amsterdam Rowing Regatta; after this edition people decided to change back to the old name. A switch from the Bosbaan to the brand new Willem-Alexander Baan in Rotterdam took place in 2013, making the Westelijke the first national regatta on this new Zuid-Holland regatta course. In 2014 the Westelijke hosted the Dutch Championships for smaller vessels. Currently, the Westelijke has owned a fixed spot in the Freshmans League and Development League of the Royal Dutch Rowing Association (KNRB).